• Truth Telling by Mondli “The Artivist” Kunene | South Africa

EAS is pleased to feature this exceptional artist and educator whose work and mixed-media paintings aim to foster social change.

'My Brother's Keeper' | Acrylic paint
    'When the Boys in Blue Came We Still Sang' | (2020) Acrylic Paint and Plaster Dust

I am Mondli “The Artivist” Kunene, born in Soweto.  I grew up with influence from Soweto and the Vaal triangle, which is where I am currently residing, Daleside, Randvaal near Meyerton in South Africa. My pathway to becoming an artist started at an early age, as I was influenced by my late uncle from my paternal side. From my maternal side, my mother and late grandmother were clothing designers.  When I was in the eighth grade, I started painting daily, everything from cartoons to famous

'There's Gold in Them Hills' | Acrylic paint

musicians and actors.

My goals, beliefs, influences, themes and practices as an artist are entirely linked because, from an early age, I grew up listening to a lot of good music, reading encyclopedias, keeping abreast of current affairs locally and abroad, as well as researching about South African history that is not published or prescribed for high school textbooks.  My aim is to focus on the exposure of the truth and the reasons why a lot of truths are hidden from the masses.

'How to Tap Dance on Your Mom's Neurons' | Acrylic paint

Because I studied to become an educator, I also influenced my former learners at the time to probe and search for the truth, instead of taking things at face value.  Later on I would incorporate this teaching element into my process of creating Mondliart®, as my work is based on factual truths hidden, metaphors and symbolism. Now that I have grown, not only as individual but as an Artivist, I look up to three people, Kanye West, Dr. Dre and my late mentor Speelman Mahlangu, nephew of Dr. Esther Mahlangu¹.

'Psalm 23' | Acrylic paint