• Featured portfolio: Stefan Bleekrode

Topic: Landscapes/Cityscapes

Stefan Bleekrode|Eindhoven, Netherlands

Stefan Bleekrode is a young, self taught artist who creates hyper realistic drawings and paintings of urban landscapes. His compositions are constructed through a combination of memory and imagination. In the following piece, Stefan introduces his work and process.

Artist Statement : Most of my paintings can best be described as snapshots of things I’ve seen when traveling or just going through my everyday routine, small bits of beauty in familiar settings. Often this initial idea comes in through the backdoor, and after a while I turn these ideas, combined with a good bit of my own imagination into fully worked out paintings. The fascination for a particular idea that compels me to undertake the task of composing these compositions is entirely subject to the emotional value and scenery of the initial idea. Most of my paintings are set in the everyday (sub)urban settings of North America (particularly the North East) or western Europe. Not only do I feel attracted to the (urban) landscape or the particular 19th century architecture, conveying a mood of lost glory and teetering on the brink of decay, above all it’s the quality of the light;bright and clear in America or soft and subdued in Europe  that adds to me an almost surreal and cinematographic dimension. Light is the one single thing many of my paintings revolve about. In the absence of daylight I greatly rejoice as well in working out the intricate patterns of artificial light in deserted streets at night. full statement